Amaranth Location Map

The Township of Amaranth (incorporated in 1852) was originally part of Wellington County and is named for the amaranth plant, which grows abundantly on its land. It is occupied by a diversity of landscape features, rivers, wetlands, and wildlife. Hamlets, like Laurel and Waldemar are nestled amongst a strong and vibrant agricultural community.

In January 1881, the Township of Amaranth along with five other townships and two villages annexed to form Dufferin County.

Council, 2022-2026 - County Representatives

  • Mayor Chris Gerrits
  • Deputy Mayor Gail Little

Contact Township of Amaranth


374028 6th Line, Amaranth, ON L9W 0M6