

# JOINT COUNCIL MINUTES Tuesday, January 31, 2023 at 3:00 p.m. Monora Park Pavillion, Mono ON

#### **Council & Staff Members Present:**

# **Township of Amaranth**

Nicole Martin, CAO/Clerk Gail Little, Deputy Mayor Susan Graham, Councillor Brad Metzger, Councillor Andrew Stirk, Councillor

## **Township of East Garafraxa**

Sue Stone, CAO
Peter Avgoustis, (Incoming) CAO
Guy Gardhouse, Mayor
John Stirk, Deputy Mayor
Lenora Banfield, Councillor
Dave Halls, Councillor
Jeremy Zukowski, Councillor

## **Town of Grand Valley**

Meghan Townsend, CAO/Clerk Klaudia Mirska, Deputy Clerk Steve Soloman, Mayor Lorne Dart, Councillor James Jonker, Councillor Paul Latam, Councillor

### **Township of Melancthon**

Denise Holmes, CAO/Clerk Darren White, Mayor Ralph Moore, Councillor Bill Nielson, Councillor Ruth Plowright, Councillor

## **Town of Mono**

Fred Simpson, Clerk John Creelman, Mayor Fred Nix, Deputy Mayor Elaine Capes, Councillor Ralph Manktelow, Councillor

# **Township of Mulmur**

Tracy Atkinson, CAO/Clerk
Janet Horner, Mayor
Earl Hawkins, Deputy Mayor
Patricia Clark, Councillor
Andrew Cunningham, Councillor
Kim Lyon, Councillor

### **Town of Orangeville**

Tracy MacDonald, Deputy Clerk Lisa Post, Mayor Todd Taylor, Deputy Mayor Joe Andrews, Councillor Andy Macintosh, Councillor Tess Prendergast, Councillor Debbie Sherwood, Councillor Rick Stevens, Councillor

#### **Town of Shelburne**

Denyse Morrissey, CAO Jennifer Willoughby, Clerk Wade Mills, Mayor Walter Benotto Shane Hall, Deputy Mayor Len Guchardi, Councillor

# **Dufferin County Staff Present:**

Sonya Pritchard, Chief Administrative Officer
Michelle Dunne, Clerk
Rebecca Whelan, Deputy Clerk
Scott Burns, Director of Public Works/County Engineer
Cody Joudry, Director of Development & Tourism
Rohan Thompson, Director of People & Equity
Anna McGregor, Director of Community Services
Brenda Wagner, Administrator of Dufferin Oaks
Tom Reid, Chief Paramedic

Warden Mills called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

## 1. **LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT**

Warden Mills shared the Land Acknowledgement Statement.

# 2. <u>Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing</u>

Spencer Fitzpatrick and Carole Sauve, Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing presented on the following topics:

- Role of Council, Councillor and Staff
- Accountability & Transparency
- Meetings
- Municipal Government
- Municipal Organization
- Changes to Council Composition
- Council as Lawmakers
- Exercising Municipal Powers
- The Fiscal Context

# 3. **Strategy Corp**

Sabine Matheson, Stacey Hushion, Hanae Merdas and Nabiha Chowdhury, Strategy Corp, lead breakout sessions to assist in setting priorities for the Strategic Plan.

The meeting adjourned at 9:23 p.m.

Next meeting:	Thursday, February 8, 202 Virtual	23	
Wade Mills Ward		Michelle Dunne Clerk	